Denver Law Review Emerging Scholar Award

Posted by Danielle Hartley, community karma 113

The Denver Law Review is pleased to announce the 2020 Emerging Scholar Award submission period beginning April 6, 2020 through April 10, 2020.

The Emerging Scholar Award is now in its seventh year. The inaugural winner, Professor Goldburn P. Maynard, Jr., is currently an Associate Professor at the Louis D. Brandeis School of Law and notes that the Emerging Scholar Award helped him distinguish himself from other academic candidates. Last year’s winner, Jennifer Elisa Chapman, is currently the Ryan H. Easley Research Fellow at the University of Maryland, Francis King Carey School of Law where she continues researching and publishing academic works while also providing her expertise as a symposia panelist.

Now is an optimal time to publish with the Denver Law Review. In recent years, we have featured works by distinguished scholars including Dean Erwin Chemerinsky and Professors Catharine MacKinnon, Kathryn Abrams, Katherine Franke, Evan Lee, and Mark Tushnet. We are excited to recognize and honor talented, new scholars and look forward to reviewing your submissions.


  • This exclusive publication opportunity is for all scholars who have: (1) received their J.D. as of March 1, 2020; (2) not yet accepted a tenure-track teaching position; and (3) not held full-time teaching positions for more than three years.


  • The selected recipient will receive an award of $500 and publication in Issue 1, Volume 98, scheduled for early 2021.


  • We will accept submissions for the Emerging Scholar Award from April 6, 2020, through April 10, 2020. Our Articles Committee will review all submitted articles and respond to authors by April 20, 2020.

To participate, please email your article and CV to Danielle Hartley, Senior Articles Editor, at with the subject line “Emerging Scholar Award.” This opportunity is open to articles that were previously submitted to the Denver Law Review, but we kindly ask that you resubmit your articles directly to Danielle Hartley in order to be eligible for the Award.

Please Note: By submitting your article during the defined entrance period, you agree to accept a binding offer for publication if an offer is extended.