Washington Law Review - New Early Exclusive Submissions Policy

3
10681
Posted by Jennifer Seely, community karma 10681

Washington Law Review has a new Early Exclusive Submission Track! It is designed for legal scholars who know they want to publish with us and who are interested in avoiding the unpredictability of submission season. 

Our Early Exclusive Submission Track opens January 10, 2021 and closes January 24, 2021 at 11:59 p.m. PST. For all articles submitted by January 24, 2021, WLR will provide a publication decision by January 30, 2021, subject to the policies outlined below. WLR will not accept exclusive submissions after January 24, 2021.

Terms: Authors participating in WLR's Early Exclusive Submissions Track may not submit their article to any other publication until WLR renders a final decision. If WLR extends an offer of publication at the end of the exclusive submissions period, participating authors agree to accept it.

Procedure: Authors interested in our Early Exclusive Submission Track must submit articles through our Scholastica portal. Consistent with all articles submitted to WLR, authors must redact all personally identifying information from the manuscript for anonymous review. Please include a separate CV or résumé that includes your phone number and email address.

2 Comments

1
117
Deji Olatoye, community karma 117
Hello, 
Can an article previously submitted to other journals participate in this, if the author withdraws consideration by those other journals before participation in your early exclusive submission?
Regards.
Deji
over 1 year ago
Hi Mr. Olatoye, Thank you for your question! Yes, that's fine if an author submits to other journals and then withdraws from their consideration before participating in WLR's Early Exclusive Submission Track. Happy new year! Jennifer
Jennifer Seely – over 1 year ago
Thank you, Ms. Seely. Happy holidays.
Deji Olatoye – over 1 year ago
login to leave comment
0
3887
Dan Subotnik, community karma 3887
Dear Ms Seely-
 
I have two articles for your possible interest. But I cannot submit exclusively to you --and so tie my hands--without your okaying work such as mine in principle. That is because I challenge existing race and gender paradigms in the legal academic world, and I know well how dug-in many of us are on these matters, especially with respect to contrarian arguments made by white makes,   

One of my articles is on consent to sex, the other is on the law school environment for  minority female law teachers.    

I am  well published in the fields I write in. Among other accomplishments, I have a book under my name published by New York University Press.

 I hope to hear  from you about either or both of my essays.  Happy new Year.. 
over 1 year ago
login to leave comment